Sony Xperia U

Sony Xperia U

Set up your phone for picture messaging

Follow these instructions to set up your phone for picture messaging.


1. Find "Access Point Names"
  • Press the menu icon.
  • Press Settings.
  • Press Wireless & networks.
  • Press Mobile networks.
  • Press Access Point Names.
2. Create new data connection
  • Press the Menu key.
  • Press New APN.
3. Enter data connection name
  • Press Name.
  • Key in Vodafone MMS and press OK.
4. Enter APN
  • Press APN.
  • Key in mms.vodafone.net and press OK.
An APN is used to create a data connection. In order to send and receive picture messages, your phone needs a data connection.
5. Enter picture messaging server
  • Press MMSC.
  • Key in http://www.vodafone.ie/mms and press OK.
6. Enter IP address
  • Press MMS proxy.
  • Key in 10.24.59.200 and press OK.
7. Enter port number
  • Press MMS port.
  • Key in 80 and press OK.
8. Enter country code
  • Press MCC.
  • Key in 272 and press OK.
9. Enter network code
  • Press MNC.
  • Key in 01 and press OK.
10. Select authentication type
  • Press Authentication type.
  • Press PAP.
11. Select APN type
  • Press APN type.
  • Key in mms and press OK.
12. Save and activate data connection
  • Press the Menu key.
  • Press Save.
  • Press the Home key to return to standby mode.
13. Find "Settings"
  • Press the menu icon.
  • Press Messaging.
  • Press the Menu key.
  • Press Settings.
14. Turn request for delivery reports on or off
  • Press Delivery report to turn the function on or off.
  • When the box next to the menu item is ticked (V), the function is turned on.
If you turn on request for delivery reports, you'll be notified when your message has been delivered. This requires that sending of delivery reports has been turned on by the recipient.
This setting applies to text messages and picture messages.
15. Select setting for picture message download when roaming
  • Press MMS when roaming to turn on the function.
  • When the box next to the menu item is ticked (V), the function is turned on.
If you turn on the function, you'll receive all picture messages when you're out of range of your home network.
If you turn off the function, you'll be notified before you receive picture messages when you're out of range of your home network.
16. Exit
  • Press the Home key to return to standby mode.